Select Page
The Square Research Center broadens Square’s expertise so as to bring theoretical and practical solutions to the current and future needs of our clients.

WHO ARE WE? 

The Square Research Center has been founded to promote the development of applied R&D work carried out within Square. It aims to design and test the most innovative approaches and tools to deliver relevant answers to the main issues of organizations. The Square Research Center brings together researchers (PhDs, PhD students), consultants, academic partners and public and private organizations, to jointly produce new, action-oriented knowledge and solutions that are meant to be implemented in a concrete manner. 

WHAT DO WE DO? 

The Square Research Center engages its teams to unlock the scientific and technological barriers preventing organizations from thoroughly addressing the “issues” they are facing, whether new, emerging, or already known. To this end, we develop models, solutions and tools for our clients, our partners and our consultants. We share our results at academic seminars, professional trade shows, or in scientific publications and use our discoveries in the frame of assignments brought to us by our Clients. 

HEAD OF THE SQUARE RESEARCH CENTER

David Alcaud graduated from the Paris IEP, holds a Master of Arts from Kent University and a Master 2 in comparative literature from Paris III University. He has studied Sociology at Paris X University and holds a PhD in political sciences from the Paris IEP. Recipient of the « Bourse de l’Ecole française de Rome » award and grantee from the Lazard Foundation, he held teaching positions at the Lille IEP and Paris IEP, as well as at several American Universities. He was an associate researcher at the CEVIPOF and the CURAPP and Vice-President of the Interdisciplinary Foundation for comparative research in social sciences. He has directed collections and books and has been a contributor to many conferences and academic publications. David has joined Square ten years ago to concurrently lead applied research work and consulting assignments. He is currently head of the Square Research Center and contribute to multiple projects. 

THE PROGRAMS

Data management

Data management

We offer an organizational model that goes beyond a mere technical architecture and allows to combine technology and human resources management. This organizational model builds on three components identified in the Data Vault 2.0 modelling and suggests new avenues such as data literacy to overcome the current barriers to data usage. 

read more
Causal inference and improvement of customer knowledge models (Uplift)

Causal inference and improvement of customer knowledge models (Uplift)

Our work demonstrates the limitations of Big Data in the field of customer knowledge. It has paved the way for new research avenues on Machine Learning, especially Preference Learning. Applied to target marketing, this analytical technique makes it possible to characterize profit-generating customers and can be extended to other fields (health, etc.).

read more
Digital twins of warehouses – intralogistics

Digital twins of warehouses – intralogistics

A digital twin is a type of simulation that relies on the principle of a virtual clone of a physical system or process. While digital twins are broadly used in industrial and scientific settings to support product-associated decision-making, little research work has looked into the use of a digital twin to support process-associated decision-making. Management of the carbon footprint and greenhouse gas emissions in intralogistics is a process that would benefit from the digital twins we are currently developing. 

read more
Models of portfolio alignment on climate trajectories

Models of portfolio alignment on climate trajectories

We are developing a new, complete conceptual framework to make the analysis of investment portfolio more objective and thus create a series of models able to integrate and process data on an organization’s greenhouse gas emissions ; to adapt the projection methods of gases emissions to the data available, and to rely on mixed methods to optimize such projections ; to bring transparency to the operation and organization of the algorithms underlying the model. 

read more
Data management

Value-based performance management

A value-based approach enables decision-makers to develop a strategy integrated across their entire value network (ecosystem), encompassing performance stakes (financial, extra-financial, operational) as well as the most modern challenges of competitivity, innovation and profitability. Managing performance trough value enables executive boards to align strategy, organization, operations and management. 

read more
Platformization and Innovation Strategies

Platformization and Innovation Strategies

Our research work aims to provide a new reference framework for designing and managing new business model projects and determining to which extent platformization can — or cannot — be a good development lever. We especially focus on the platformization perspectives in the context of Open Banking, and their impact on value creation models. 

read more
Banking Sustainability

Banking Sustainability

We have developed an econometric modelling to analyze the determining factors (both exogenous and endogenous) impacting profitability and banking risks. Thereby interrogating the durability of the banking business models, formerly called “banking sustainability”, our work offers a new analytic framework to measure and anticipate impacts on the profitability and banking risk profile, depending on their specificities: retail bank, investment bank, mass retail bank, universal bank.

read more
Responsible Digital Technology

Responsible Digital Technology

Our R&D program aims to develop a tool that measures the immaterial value of digital technologies, thus ultimately delivering an analysis and decision-aiding tool. We allow responsible digital technologies to be an integral part of the CSR and IT strategies of organizations, thus consolidating the management of extra-financial performance.

read more
Causal inference and improvement of customer knowledge models (Uplift)

Organizational culture modelling for change management

We strengthen the capacity of organizations to grasp and evaluate the cultural factors that are directly and indirectly impacting their ecosystem as well as their capacity to effectively change and manage such transformation. Organizational culture analysis, in particular, often remains relegated to the background, making any cultural diagnostic difficult, or even useless, thereby depriving organizations from an instrumental lever to promote the chosen change. 

read more
Causal inference and improvement of customer knowledge models (Uplift)

New ways of working and managing

We are developing a model of an approach to understand the way in which business practices are applied in organizations. The program aims to model the best possible way to set people, teams and the eventually the whole organization in motion, and thereby lead the change depending on an organization’s practices and structure. 

read more
Causal inference and improvement of customer knowledge models (Uplift)

Interpretability of automated learning models

Our research work is focusing on developing solutions to improve the evaluation metrics of interpretability models in terms of plausibility and fidelity. The design of robust substitution models against adversarial attacks. The generation of adversarial attacks and suitable counterfactuals, which are especially difficult for NLP applications, to eventually optimize the interpretability of AI algorithms. 

read more

CONTACT US

173 avenue Achille Peretti
92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine
+33 1 46 40 40 00

GIVING A FUTURE TO TALENT

Sélectionner une page
Le Square Research Center approfondit les expertises de Square pour apporter des solutions théoriques et pratiques aux besoins présents et futurs de nos clients.

Qui sommes-nous ?

Le Square Research Center a été fondé pour favoriser le développement des travaux de R&D appliquée réalisés au sein de Square. Il a pour objectif de concevoir et de tester les approches et outils les plus innovants afin d’apporter une réponse pertinente aux problématiques majeures des organisations. Le Square Research Center associe chercheurs (docteurs et doctorants), consultants, partenaires académiques et organisations publiques et privées, à la production de connaissances et de solutions nouvelles, orientées vers l’action et destinées à être mises en œuvre concrètement. 

Que réalisons nous ?

Le Square Research Center mobilise ses équipes pour lever les verrous scientifiques et technologiques qui empêchent les organisations de traiter en profondeur les “problèmes” auxquelles elles sont confrontées, que ces problèmes soient neufs, émergents ou déjà connus. À cette fin, nous développons des modèles, des solutions et des outils pour nos clients, nos partenaires et nos consultants. Nous partageons nos résultats dans des séminaires académiques, dans des manifestations professionnelles, dans des publications, et utilisons nos découvertes dans le cadre des missions que nous confient nos Clients.

RESPONSABLE SQUARE RESEARCH CENTER

Diplômé de l’IEP de Paris, détenteur d’un Master of Arts (Kent) et d’un Master 2 de littérature comparée (Paris III), David Alcaud étudie la sociologie (Paris X) puis devient Docteur en science politique de l’IEP de Paris. Lauréat de la Bourse de l’Ecole française de Rome et de la Fondation Lazard, il a enseigné à l’IEP de Lille et à l’IEP de Paris, ainsi que dans plusieurs Universités américaines. Il a été chercheur associé au CEVIPOF et au CURAPP et Vice-Président de la Fondation interdisciplinaire pour la recherche comparative en sciences sociales. Il a dirigé collection et ouvrages et a contribué à de nombreuses conférences et publications universitaires. David a rejoint Square il y a dix ans pour mener conjointement des travaux de recherche appliquée et des missions de conseil. Il est aujourd’hui responsable du Square Research Center et contribue à plusieurs projets.

Les programmes

Management de la donnée

Management de la donnée

Nous proposons un modèle organisationnel qui dépasse la simple architecture technique et permet d’allier technologie et gestion des ressources humaines. Ce modèle organisationnel s’appuie sur trois briques identifiées dans la modélisation Data Vault 2.0 et propose de nouvelles composantes comme l’éducation sur la donnée pour dépasser les freins existants à l’usage de celle-ci.

lire plus
Inférence causale et amélioration des modèles de connaissance clients (Uplift)

Inférence causale et amélioration des modèles de connaissance clients (Uplift)

Nos travaux montrent les limites du Big Data dans le domaine de la connaissance client et ont ouvert la voie à de nouvelles études autour du Machine Learning, et plus spécifiquement encore du Préférence Learning. Cette technique d’analyse appliquée au ciblage marketing permet de caractériser les seuls clients rentables et est reproductible dans d’autres domaines (santé, etc.)

lire plus
Jumeaux numériques des entrepôts — intra logistique

Jumeaux numériques des entrepôts — intra logistique

Le jumeau numérique est un type de simulation qui repose sur le principe d’un clone virtuel d’un système physique ou d’un processus. Si l’exploitation du jumeau numérique est très répandue dans les milieux industriels et scientifiques pour soutenir la prise des décisions associées aux produits, très peu de recherches se sont intéressées à son exploitation pour soutenir la prise de décisions associées aux processus. La gestion de l’empreinte carbone et de l’émission des gaz à effet de serre dans l’intra logistique est un processus nécessite notamment l’utilisation des jumeaux numériques que nous développons.

lire plus
Modèles d’alignement des portefeuilles sur les trajectoires climatiques

Modèles d’alignement des portefeuilles sur les trajectoires climatiques

Nous réalisons un cadre conceptuel complet inédit permettant d’objectiver l’analyse des portefeuilles d’investissement et, ainsi, de créer une série de modèles capables d’intégrer et de traiter des données portant sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des entreprises ; d’adapter les méthodes de projection de ces émissions de gaz à effet de serre aux données disponibles, et de s’appuyer sur des méthodes mixtes pour optimiser les projections ; d’apporter de la transparence quant au fonctionnement et à l’organisation des algorithmes sous-jacents au modèle.

lire plus
Management de la donnée

Piloter la performance par la valeur

L’approche par la valeur permet aux décideurs de développer une stratégie intégrée sur l’ensemble de leur réseau de valeur (écosystème) recouvrant aussi bien les enjeux de performance (financière, extra-financière, opérationnelle) que les défis les plus contemporains de la compétitivité, de l’innovation et de la rentabilité. Piloter la performance par la valeur permet aux COMEX d’aligner stratégie, organisation, opérations et management.

lire plus
Plateformisation et Stratégies d’Innovation

Plateformisation et Stratégies d’Innovation

Nos travaux permettent de proposer un nouveau cadre de référence pour concevoir et de piloter les nouveaux projets de modèles d’affaires et de déterminer dans quelle mesure la plateformisation peut être — ou pas — un levier de développement. Nous nous concentrons plus particulièrement sur les perspectives de plateformisation dans le contexte de l’Open Banking, et les impacts sur les modèles de création de valeur.

lire plus
Soutenabilité Bancaire

Soutenabilité Bancaire

Nous avons développé une modélisation économétrique qui permet d’analyser les déterminants (facteurs exogènes et endogènes) impactant le profit et le risque bancaire. Interrogeant de ce fait la pérennité des modèles d’affaires bancaires, autrement appelée « soutenabilité bancaire », nos travaux proposent un cadre d’analyse neuf qui permet de mesurer et d’anticiper les impacts sur le profil de rentabilité et de risque des banques, et ce en fonction de leurs spécificités : banque de détail, banque d’investissement, banque de grande clientèle, banque universelle.

lire plus
Numérique Responsable

Numérique Responsable

Notre programme de R&D développe un outil de mesure de la valeur immatérielle du numérique débouchant sur un outil d’analyse et d’aide à la décision. Nous permettons au numérique responsable de faire partie intégrante de la stratégie RSE et de la stratégie IT d’une entreprise, consolidant ainsi le pilotage des performances extra-financières. 

lire plus
Inférence causale et amélioration des modèles de connaissance clients (Uplift)

Modélisation de la culture organisationnelle pour conduire le changement

Nous renforçons la capacité des organisations à mieux saisir et mesurer les facteurs culturels qui ont des effets directs et indirects sur leur écosystème et sur leur capacité à bien se transformer et à conduire le changement . L’analyse de la culture organisationnelle en particulier reste souvent reléguée au second plan, rendant tout diagnostic culturel délicat, voire infructueux, privant les organisations d’un levier clé du changement choisi.

lire plus
Inférence causale et amélioration des modèles de connaissance clients (Uplift)

Nouvelles méthodes de travail et de management

Nous développons un modèle de démarche permettant de comprendre la manière dont les pratiques professionnelles « font méthode » dans une organisation. Le programme vise à modéliser la meilleure façon de mettre en mouvement les personnes, les équipes et l’organisation, et ainsi conduire le changement en fonction des pratiques et de la configuration de l’entreprise.

lire plus
Inférence causale et amélioration des modèles de connaissance clients (Uplift)

L’explicabilité des modèles d’apprentissage automatique

Notre travail de recherche développe des solutions permettant l’amélioration des métriques d’évaluation des modèles d’explicabilité en termes de plausibilité et de fidélité. La conception de modèles de substitution robustes aux attaques adversariales. La génération d’attaques adversariales et d’exemples contrefactuels adaptés, particulièrement ardue dans le cas d’une application NLP, afin d’optimiser la capacité d’interprétabilité des algorithmes d’IA.

lire plus

NOUS CONTACTER

173, avenue Achille Peretti
92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine
+33 1 46 40 40 00

DONNEZ DU FUTUR À VOTRE TALENT